Beef Rendang with Asian Salad.

I have to say that Beef Rendang is my favourite Thai/Malaysian curry. I also believe its the easiest to make. Just a few ingredients blended together, slowly cooked in coconut milk and a humble piece of beef becomes something to die for. Never again will we be having a boring beef casserole!

Difficulty 1/5

Curry Paste: 2 Stalks Lemongrass, 3 large shallots, 1/2 bunch coriander( inc roots), 1hp tsp ginger and garlic, 1 chilli, 1 Tsp coriander, turmeric, cumin.

Curry: 500g beef cubed, 250ml coconut milk, 150ml beef stock, 3 lime leaves, 1 star anise. 1 Tbsp of tamarind paste, lime juice, palm sugar, fish sauce.

Asian Salad: 100g shredded cabbage, 50g beansprouts, 1/2 pepper sliced, 50g pea shoots( or green leaf), handful of chopped nuts. Dressing: 1 Tbsp fishsauce, soy sauce, juice of a lime, tsp palm sugar, touch of tamarind. Tsp sesame oil.

Rice to serve.

1) Bash the lemongrass up and whizz together with all the other ingredients until they make a paste. If its dry add a splash of water to make the paste. Otherwise the sauce will end up bitty.

2) Fry paste in 1tbsp oil until all the aromas come off, add the beef and brown as best you can. Then add the liquids, star anise and lime leaves. Add 1 Teaspoon of the other ingredients and taste. Adjust the taste to your liking with the remaining seasonings. Place a lid on the curry and put in an oven at 140c for two hours.

3) For the salad, mix the dressing ingredients together, pour over salad just before serving up the curry.

4) For my guide to rice see my Thai Green Curry recipe.

When serving I toasted a couple of spoonfuls of desiccated coconut and sprinkled on the curry. This gives it a great crunch adding another dimension.

Critique: Although the curry is so moreish and satisfying. I think it’s the smell of the kitchen that draws you in and keeps you wanting more. I don’t think I could get bored of this if I ate it every week.

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “Beef Rendang with Asian Salad.”

  1. Jennifer Duncan (@LuvFoodCookFood) says :

    I love Thai food and your recipe, as usual, looks positively delicious. I am also going to have to check out your rice. :-)

  2. Emma says :

    This recipe caught my eye because my dad used to love beef rendang and loved to cook curries in general, usually very hot ones. Yours looks lovely and spicy with classic flavours and you’ve cooked your rice perfectly. Also I love the toasted coconut on top!

  3. navane64 says :

    How not to drool over this rendang recipe and I am sure you would have seen from my blog that I am an ardent and truly Asian in my cooking as well as the type of food my family eat.

    Perfect pairing with the salad and rice, oh yes, more rice all the way for me.

    • David Crichton says :

      As I know you’d appreciate, the smell was even better. If only I could invent it!! Pleased its had a thumbs up from an authentic Asian expert.

      Dave.

  4. Food,Photography & France says :

    I remember, some 20 years ago, a little shop in Wimbledon village,run by a Sri Lankan lady and her English husband, who produced the most wonderful dishes including a beef rendang. Her reputation rose so quickly that she was soon supplying Harrods. I’m not sure that that particular accolade remains a mark of quality today:)

  5. The Scrumptious Pumpkin says :

    Sounds so healthy, this is just my kind of dish. Love your recipe for homemade curry paste too.

  6. Neela says :

    Sorry to take the thread away from the actual food and delicious recipe, but I also love how you serve and present it. I find it difficult to present such dishes with elegance, but your site gives me so many good ideas with presentation. Your crockery is to die for.

  7. Bam's Kitchen says :

    I think the hardest part of this dish is waiting the 2 hours for it to cook slowly. Great dish!

  8. ritacooksitalian says :

    This sounds so good. I like beef Rendang , but I have never cooked it. This recipe inspires me. I love the smell of the kitchen after cooking Thai/Malaysian food…Unfortunately, my cloths and hair smell too.

  9. Mango Ginger says :

    As you know, right up my street!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

