Polenta Chips.

Firstly, I have to admit that chips are my vice.  Pretty much like most people’s chocolate.  If I find any in arms length they have to be eaten.  The rules are simple, just cooler than mouth burning temperature, but hot enough to make the vinegar rapidly evaporate to enhance the flavours.  I’m also fastidious like everyone is, simple salt and vinegar for me.  HP at a push goes well with any potato. If you want garlic mayo or tomato ketchup, feel free.  I don’t know where it comes from but I’m obsessed with polenta.  Most people hate it, including my wife.  Which is why it doesn’t get an outing much.  Obviously that solid block thing you buy in supermarkets should only be used as a flood barrier.  Disgusting.  Fine polenta flavoured like a risotto with cream, butter and parmesan is actually a cracking alternative to mash.  But I had to take it one step further and make my polenta chips.

Method: Must have loose polenta, cook it with some water about equal quantities.  Cook until it becomes almost too difficult to stir it.  Place into a square container so that it sets about an inch thick.  Let cool and solidify.

Cut into 1cm square chips, then you must dust them with loose polenta.  This creates a superb crunch and moreish texture.  Fry at 180c until they turn golden.  Drain on kitchen paper and salt immediately.

Serve.  Delicious.  I know you want some.

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Polenta Chips.”

  1. lovefoodcookfood says :

    Simple, quick and delicious. 🙂

  2. italianaalondra says :

    I am not a polenta fan (very North rather than South Italy thing), but I eat it with joy when my mum cook it. I have tried to prepare it only once and it was a disaster! Polenta’s leftovers are fried the day after in oil and butter, close enough to your Polenta Chips? Uhm… (ritacooksitalian)

  3. italianaalondra says :

    I am not a polenta fan (very North rather than South Italy thing), but I eat it with joy when my mum cook it. I have tried to prepare it only once and it was a disaster! Polenta’s leftovers are fried the day after in oil and butter, close enough to your Polenta Chips? Uhm…(ritacooksitalian)

  4. David Crichton says :

    It was after asking for your ideas, I thought there has to be more to polenta than wet or dry. I’ve got a feeling it is going to get a few more outings in various guises.

  5. Food,Photography & France says :

    That is a particularly good chip. I make homemade, frying free, chips which I dust with polenta for the crunch.

  6. David Crichton says :

    I know what you mean though of coating in polenta. I generally coat my roasties with it for extra crunch.

  7. The Low Fat Chick says :

    I love polenta. Sounds fabulous.

  8. Jennifer Duncan (@LuvFoodCookFood) says :

    I haven’t had polenta for years. I’ll have to give this recipe a go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

